Me and My Big Mouth!

Standard

Proverbs 21:23

“Whoever guards his mouth and tongue keeps his soul from troubles.”

Ok so this verse totally kicks my tushy! Sometimes I need to learn when to shush! Ever been there?

When I was a teenager I was smarting off to my dad (I know it’s hard to believe). He said to me “Not another word!”. I couldn’t take it…I just had to say something, so I said “Well!”. My dad would say again “I said not another word” and again I said “WELL!”. This went on for a few rounds. I just didn’t get it! Trust me the end result was not in my favor. It was like everything within me HAD to say something! I couldn’t shut my mouth!

Now there are some times when we need to speak up. There are also times when we need to hold our tongue and not say a word. That’s a hard task for some of us! I could have saved myself from being grounded a zillion times (ok it wasn’t that many times but it sure felt like it) by just shutting my big mouth.

So you are saying to yourself…I thought this blog was a joyful blog. It is! 🙂 God’s Word is the encouraging Word. If we just listen to what the Word says and then do it, we will save ourselves from getting into trouble! I don’t know about you but when I’m not getting into trouble, I’m a happy camper! 🙂 It’s easier for JOY to flow in my life!

I hope you were encouraged today!

Leave a Reply

