Need A Hug?

Standard

“From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” Psalm 61:2

This is a verse that I try to pray over my family every day. I have really been encouraged by this verse this week!

Have you ever just needed a hug? My daughter (who is 19 months old) was in her crib for nap time today. It was one of those days where she just didn’t want to take a nap. I was downstairs watching her on the video monitor. She was crying (probably could have won and Emmy for her performance)…then I noticed she kept putting her arms out and saying something. So I listened closely and I heard her say “hug”. It just melted my heart (you know I had to go give her one).

My daughter reaching out and asking for a hug is a great picture of us reaching out to God when we are feeling overwhelmed. We always need Him but there are times when we really NEED Him. Ya know what I mean?

Can you imagine what it’s like for God to see us reaching out to Him when we are feeling overwhelmed. He wants to help! Like a natural father, He wants to fix it!

God has a great view…actually He has the BEST view! We obviously know that He is higher than us because He is in heaven but sometimes I think we forget that He is that “rock” or “strength” that is higher than us. He has the strength to take care of the challenges we are facing!

Thanks for reading! I hope you were encouraged by God’s Word!

Leave a Reply

