Pity Party?

Standard

James 1:2 – “My brethren, count it all JOY when you fall into various trials,”

The word “count” means: “command with official authority”. Sometimes we have to speak or even command JOY in our lives! We may not feel joyful so we need to do what David did (I Samuel 30:6) — encourage and strengthen ourselves in the Lord.

My challenges seem so tiny when I think about how David faced men (who were on his side) who wanted to stone him! David chose to take his eyes off of the circumstances and put them on Jesus.

Another thought on this verse: When things aren’t going as planned or you’re feeling discouraged, begin to count all the things you are thankful for. I have done that many times (trust me, I am not perfect at this). If I even think about having a pity party for myself (p.s. I’ve realized that no one wants to come to my pity party) I try to think of the many things that I am blessed with.

Let’s skip the pity party and have a JOY party! 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

