Kick off those flip-flops!

Standard

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty (emancipation from bondage, freedom).” (Amp)

2 Corinthians 3:17

I was thinking of this verse after my walk with my daughter yesterday. She loves to go for rides in the stroller. She was excited as usual during our walk but there was one point during the walk that she started whooping and hollering….weeee weeee! I happened to look down and her feet were bare! Yep, that’s right, flip-flops (with the straps on the back) were GONE! The best part…I was almost home. I had walked to the Village Office to pay a bill and then to the Post Office. There was no telling WHERE the flip-flops were!

To make a long story short, I finally found them after driving down the main street a few times. During the search for the beloved flip-flops, I heard my daughter saying “Oh no, flit flot…hehe”. I’m so glad she could find humor in it because at that time, I didn’t. 🙂 I am learning a lot from a 20 month old.

I started thinking about how my daughter loves the freedom of bare feet. When we go for car rides she typically has her shoes off by the time we reach our destination.

Freedom is a wonderful feeling! Not only can freedom be a “feeling”, it can be a reality. This verse tells us that where God IS, there is freedom. As we give God the reigns to our life, we experience true freedom (I am still learning this).

Kick off those flip-flops and enJOY your day!

Leave a Reply

