Waiting or Weighting?

Standard

“But those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength;  They shall mount up with wings like eagles,  They shall run and not be weary,  They shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

This is a verse that I grew up hearing over and over. It is such an encouraging verse to me. The word “wait” means patiently. I believe that patience and joy go hand in hand. If you don’t have patience you’re not going to have much joy and vice versa! They are like those inseparable giddy friends that you would go insane without! 🙂

At times, it can be challenging for me to be patient! Everything within me says I WANT THAT NOW! I’m sure you’ve been there a time or two!

It reminds me of when I was looking for widow coverings for my sliding glass doors. I can be picky and I typically won’t just settle for something that I don’t like. I found the PERFECT bamboo shades online! I was pumped! The only thing was that they were $100 a piece.

I felt in my heart that I needed to wait on purchasing them. So I listened to that nudge and I waited. A few days later I checked the website again and the shades were marked down to $50 a piece! Ever heard of the phrase – “Good things come to those who WAIT”?

Sometimes people think they are WEIGHTING on the Lord. They walk around as if they are carrying this heavy mass! When we wait on the Lord it should be an expectation (looking forward to what is going to happen)!

There are several things in my life that I am waiting on. I am encouraged to know that as I patiently wait on God He will renew my strength. I will mount up with wings like eagles…I will run and not be weary and I will walk and not faint!

I hope you were encouraged today! I sure was!

Joyfully His as I wait on Him!

Leave a Reply

