For(give)

Standard

I have been thinking about Thanksgiving. I absolutely love reading about the different things people are thankful for (you know, the lovely Facebook statuses). 🙂

It’s a sweet reminder to think about all the things we can be thankful for.

I found a picture of a Thanksgiving Tree on a blog — you list all the things you are thankful for on little round decorative scrapbook paper and put it on the tree limbs. I LOVE it!

There is another aspect of Thanksgiving…The GIVING part.

It’s easy to give to someone who we love or has blessed us. Right?

Well  here is another way to think about giving…

I don’t think it’s an accident that the word “give” is in the word “forgive”.

There have been countless times that I have been forgiven and countless opportunities that I have forgiven others. Some easier and some not so much. Ever been there?

Sometimes those “forgiving” opportunities pop up during the holidays, ya know with your lovely family and all (Not my family of coarse). 🙂

I remember a specific situation when I had to forgive someone (forgiveness is a choice, not a feeling).

When I prayed about it, I really felt in my heart to give them money…SECRETLY.

So I hired a secret agent.

Proverbs 21:14 says “A gift in secret pacifies anger…”.

Do you know how good I felt after doing this?

Indescribable.

So maybe you are reading this and you are dealing with a situation. Maybe you have been mistreated, misunderstood, or hurt.

I’ve been there and will be there again.

If you feel trapped by a situation because someone has hurt you or you need to forgive someone — maybe it’s time to give.

I’m not saying that you have to give them money. There are creative ways to give. God will show you.

I hope you were encouraged today! Joyfully His!

Leave a Reply

