I Love Me Too!

Standard

I remember when my husband and I would say to our 2-year-old “I love you” and she would respond in her sweet voice “I love me too!”. Naturally we would giggle.

Then I started thinking about her response.

When God tells us that He loves us (through His Word) we should respond “I love you AND I love me too”.

Not in an arrogant way. It’s ok to love yourself. I mean you’re stuck with yourself for the rest of your life so you might as well love yourself. Right?

Many of us have forgotten to LOVE OURSELVES too!

Mark 12:30-31 says “you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’This is the first commandment.  31 And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”

If we don’t love ourselves, we’re going to have a hard time loving our neighbor! Right?

Sometimes we wonder why it’s challenging to love those around us…maybe sometimes it’s us and not them?

Trust me, as I’m typing this I am saying “ouch” to myself.

We have to learn to truly love ourselves if we’re going to truly love others.

How do we love ourselves? I’m glad you asked!

Keep an eye out for my next post!

I hope you were encouraged today! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

